Maniac week postmortem

Originally posted on blog :: Brent -> [String]:

My maniac week was a great success! First things first: here’s a time-lapse video1 (I recommend watching it at the full size, 1280×720).

Some statistics2:

  • Total hours of productive work: 55.5 (74 pings)
  • Average hours of work per day3: 11
  • Average hours of sleep per night: 7.8 (52 pings over 5 nights)4
  • Total hours not working or sleeping: 27.25 (37 pings)
  • Average hours not working per day: 5.5
  • Pages of dissertation written: 24 (157 to 181)

[I was planning to also make a visualization of my TagTime data showing when I was sleeping, working, or not-working, but putting together the video and this blog post has taken long enough already! Perhaps I’ll get around to it later.]

Overall, I would call the experiment a huge success—although as you can see, I was a full 2.5 hours per day off my target of 13.5 hours…

View original 769 more words

Leave a Reply

